Association for Molecular Pathology


February 2011, Volume 17, Number 1


Clinical Practice Committee Report

Mary Lowery Nordberg

By Janina Longtine, MD



I would like to take this opportunity to thank Iris Schrijver for her exceptional leadership of the Clinical Practice Committee (CPC) for the past two years. The Committee has been very productive generating practice guidelines, issuing commentary on relevant topics and publishing manuscripts. I will do my best to maintain her high standards. I also thank the outgoing Committee members Narasimhan Nagan (Genetics Subdivision), Joseph Pulliam (Hematopathology Subdivision), Donna Wolk (Infectious Diseases Subdivision), and Frederico Monzon (Solid Tumors Subdivision) for their consistently strong work and commitment. I welcome new members Siby Sebastian (Genetics Subdivision), Cyrus Hedvat (Hematopathology Subdivision), Kathleen Montone (Infectious Diseases Subdivision), and Loren Joseph (Solid Tumors Subdivision) and look forward to working with them.

The CPC is working on a variety of projects to advance the practice of molecular pathology. Here are some highlights of the work of the past three months. Genetics Subdivision Representative Christine Curtis is exploring cytogenetic characterization (karyotypes) of cell lines commonly used in clinical genetics laboratories as assay controls. Hematopathology Subdivision Representative Jane Gibson is evaluating the impact of exclusive licenses for molecular testing in hematologic disorders on patient care and clinical laboratories. Solid Tumor Representative Neal Lindeman is participating in a CAP-IASLC-AMP committee to establish practice guidelines for EGFR mutation testing in non-small cell lung carcinoma.

In the coming months, we will work on completing these and other projects. We also ask that AMP members alert the Council or CPC Committee members when laboratory guidelines or recommendations are open for public comment so that we can respond appropriately.